The Gillings Sustainable Agriculture Project: A Gillings Innovative Laboratory


Documentary Studies Course was inspirational
December 16, 2009, 4:16 pm
Filed under: Education, Politics, Sustainable Agriculture | Tags: ,

Charlie Thompson, Center for Documentary Studies, Duke University

Hello Folks — I know Anna usually posts to the blog but I was particularly excited today to read some of the wonderful comments that students provided at the end of the semester about Charlie Thompson’s Documentary Studies Class at Duke University (See October 7 post, “Politics of Food,” by Anna): some of them not only praised Charlie as an inspirational person but Anna as well.  I received permission from one particular student to publish the praise that she wrote about the class.

Hi Dr. Thompson,

I just wanted to thank you once again for your class. I can’t tell you how much I appreciate your willingness to meet with me at the beginning of the semester, and also your continued interest in how I was feeling in the class. I appreciate and value being exposed to all of these issues about which I would have remained ignorant had it not been for your class and the guest speakers. Also, the final project that Angela and I did about SEEDS was truly inspiring. Coming into this class, I never would have imagined that I would be so interested in these issues, but it was moving to see these people working against the issues that had been brought up in your class. Working with Angela, as she was previously passionate about sustainability and food justice, taught me a lot as well. Unlike a lot of classes I’ve taken at Duke, yours has given me a new breadth of knowledge and awareness that I can take out of the classroom and apply.

Thank you again, and I hope you have a great holiday.

Best,

Lynn ElHarake

p.s. Anna is an amazing TA. She was always available for questions and valuable input throughout the semester 🙂

Those of us working on the Gillings Sustainable Agriculture Project are so pleased to hear things like Lynn had to say.  According to Anna and Charlie the class had 22 undergraduates from Duke, 1 undergrad from UNC, 1 law school student from Duke, and 5 graduate students from UNC (from schools/departments of public health, journalism and folk lore). Because of this tremendous success we are looking for funding in order to be able to sustain the course over time and, if Charlie’s willing and able, to provide it regularly.  Thank you Charlie!  Thank you Anna.

Robin

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

